Student Research Group (SRG) Newsletter Annual Edition, September 2013

Your Officers

- Officers for the <u>2012-2013</u> were: Joseph Kelly (D4) (President), Lauren Harvey (D3) (Vice President), Christina Schiltz (D3) (Secretary), Amber (Shimek) McCarville (D3) (Treasurer), Christina Mulcahy (D4 Representative), Monica Popowski (D4 Representative), Kandy Thomas (D3 Representative), Jonathan Van Hemert (D2 Representative), Eddie Pantzlaff (D1 Representative)
- New officers for the <u>2013-2014</u> are: Lauren Harvey (D4) (President), Hannah Anderson (D3) (Vice President), Jessica Grabouski (D4) (Secretary), Courtney (Lickteig) Mann (D3) (Treasurer), Chong Shao (D4 Representative), Kate Zimmerman (D3 Representative), Eddie Pantzlaff (D2 Representative), TBD (D1 Representative)
- Dr. Teresa Marshall, Assistant Director and Faculty Advisor, UI Student Research Program
- Dr. John Warren, Director, UI Student Research Program; Faculty Advisor, AADR National Student Research Group
- Lynn Schaul, Program Assistant, UI Student Research Program

Election of Officers & Mentor Appreciation Luncheon

The Student Research Group held their annual election of officers at a noon luncheon meeting on May 20, 2013. The Student Research Group took this opportunity to honor and thank the faculty mentors who have worked so selflessly in the past year. The Mentor of the Year award was presented to **Dr. Teresa Marshall**.

Students on the Go...

- 1. Christina Schiltz (D3) presented research at the ADA Conference in San Francisco, CA on October 19-21, 2012.
- 2. The 60th Annual Meeting of the Iowa Section of the American Association of Dental Research was held February 19, 2013 with 27 pre-doctoral student research presentations. Thank you for your participation. <u>All students</u> must be prepared to submit an abstract for presentation next year.
- 3. Michael Pagano (D3) and Christina Schiltz (D3) attended the ADEA Conference in Seattle, WA on March 16-19, 2013.
- 4. These 20 pre-doctoral students presented research at the IADR/AADR/CADR Conference in Seattle, WA on March 20-23, 2013: (D1) Zachary Goettsche; (D2) Chad Allen, Hannah Anderson, Justin Anderson, Ryan Humbert, Michael Johnson, Justin Kirch, Nicole Major, Ben Nashleanas, Ben Roemmich, Peter Ruggiero, Jonathan Van Hemert, Taylor Zmoos; (D3) Jessica Grabouski, Lauren Harvey, Thao Kieu, Eric Popp, Christina Schiltz, Amber (Shimek) McCarville, Kandy Thomas.
- The University of Iowa hosted the 2013 Midwest Regional Student Research Conference on April 13, 2013. The activities included a short business meeting, a tour of Oral-B, a luncheon, poster presentations and oral presentations by students, a tour of the UI College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics, and a dinner banquet. These 14 pre-doctoral students presented research: (D2) Chad Allen, Hannah Anderson, Justin Anderson, Ryan Humbert, Justin Kirch, Michael Pagano, Eric Popp, Peter Ruggiero, Jonathan Van Hemert, Taylor Zmoos; (D3) Lauren Harvey, Thao Kieu; (D4) Joseph Kelly, Monica Popowski.
- **6. Hillary Guenther (D4)** and **Chong Shao (D3)** presented their abstracts at the National Oral Health Conference in Huntsville, Alabama on April 22-24, 2013.
- 7. These 6 pre-doctoral students presented research at the Iowa Dental Association Conference in Coralville, IA on May 2-4, 2013: (D2) Hannah Anderson, Justin Anderson, Ryan Humbert, Michael Pagano; (D3) Katie Nagel; (D4) Jeremy Grabouski.

Individual Accomplishments

- 1. (D4s) Hillary Guenther, Joseph Kelly, Alexia Murray, Monica Popowski, Brian Smith, were recipients of the 2013 Senior Research Achievement Award.
- **2. Justin Anderson (D2)** received the American Dental Association Foundation Scholarship.
- **3.** From Spring 2013-Spring 2014, **Christina Schiltz** (**D3-D4**) was selected to participate in the 2013 ADEA Gies / AADR Academic Dental Careers Fellowship Program.
- **4. Chad Allen (D2)** was awarded the 2013 AADR Bloc Travel Grant for additional funds to the IADR/AADR/CADR Meeting in Seattle, WA on March 20-23, 2013.
- **Nicole Major (D2)** received the IADR Education Research Group Student Travel Award for additional funds to the IADR/AADR/CADR Meeting in Seattle, WA on March 20-23, 2013.
- **6. Chad Allen (D2)**, 1st place and representative at National ADA Meeting, ADA Poster/Table Clinic Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- 7. Lauren Claevs (D2), 2nd place, ADA Poster/Table Clinic Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- 8. Christina Schiltz (D3), 3rd place, ADA Poster/Table Clinic Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- **9. Justin Anderson (D2),** 1st place, Max Smith Oral Presentation Competition, Local AADR Research Day.

- **10. Joseph Kelly (D4),** 2nd place, Max Smith Oral Presentation Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- 11. Jonathan Van Hemert (D2), 3rd place, Max Smith Oral Presentation Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- **12. Thao Kieu (D3),** 1st place, Procter & Gamble Poster Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- 13. Eric Popp (D3), 2nd place, Procter & Gamble Poster Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- **14. Hannah Anderson (D2)**, 3rd place, Procter & Gamble Poster Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- **15. Michael Pagano (D3)**, 4th place, Procter & Gamble Poster Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- **16. Chong Shao (D3),** 5th place, Procter & Gamble Poster Competition, Local AADR Research Day.
- 17. Lauren Harvey (D3), Iowa Society of Periodontology Award, Local AADR Research Day.
- **18.** Chad Allen (D2) received the SCADA/Dentsply Award.
- **19. Ryan Humbert (D2)**, 1st Place, Iowa Dental Association Pre-Doctoral Table Clinic Award.
- **20. Katie Nagel (D3),** 2nd Place, Iowa Dental Association Pre-Doctoral Table Clinic Award.
- 21. Justin Anderson (D2), 3rd Place, 2nd Place, Iowa Dental Association Pre-Doctoral Table Clinic Award.

Published Articles

April, 2014

- 1. Lauren Harvey (D3) and Erica Recker (PD): Harvey LE, Kohlgraf KG, Mehalick LA, Raina M, Recker EN, Radhakrishnan S, Prasad SA, Vidva R, Progulske-Fox A, Cavanaugh JE, Vali S, Brogden KA. Defensin DEFB103 bidirectionally regulates chemokine and cytokine responses to a pro-inflammatory stimulus. *Scientific Reports* 3(1232), 2013. Available from: http://www.nature.com/srep/2013/130206/srep01232/full/srep01232.html.
- **Joseph Kelly (D4): Kelly JT,** Avila-Ortiz G, Allareddy V, Johnson GK, Elangovan S. The Association between Periodontitis and Coronary Heart Disease: A Quality Assessment of Systematic Reviews. *J Am Dent Assoc.* 2013 Apr; 144(4):371-9.

National Student Research Group

• For information regarding membership in the National Student Research Group (NSRG), visit:

http://www.aadronline.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3481. Follow the NSRG on:



• The annual AADR Meeting will be held in Charlotte, North Carolina on March 19-22, 2014. You are encouraged to consider submitting your abstract for awards. A complete list of awards may be found online at http://www.iadr.org/files/public/13Awards.pdf.

Important Dates for this 2013-2014 year

October 8, 2013	Deadline to submit your AADR abstract on AADR website
December 10, 2013	AADR status notifications e-mailed to abstract submission presenters from AADR
January 15, 2014	AADR presenter pre-registration deadline (Lynn will purchase your AADR membership and registration
	before this date.)
January 20, 2014	Deadline for AADR Student Fellowship Research Applications
Late January, 2014	AADR presentation numbers e-mailed to presenters
February, 2014	Non-presenter AADR pre-registration deadline
February 11, 2014	Iowa AADR Local Research Day
March 19-22, 2014	AADR 43 rd Annual Meeting, Charlotte, NC
April 1, 2014	Deadline for Student Research Proposals for the 2014-2015 year

Midwest Regional Dental Student Research Conference, Minneapolis, MN