## Student Research Group (SRG) Newsletter Annual Edition, September 2012

#### **Your Officers**

- Officers for 2011-2012 were: Joseph Kelly (D3) (President), Hillary Guenther (D3) (Vice President), Christina Schiltz (D2) (Treasurer), Christina Mulcahy (D3) (Secretary), Sandy Imoehl (D4 Representative), Karl Kohlgraf (D4 Representative), JJ Grabouski (D3 Representative), Amber Shimek (D2 Representative)
- New officers for 2012-2013 are: **Joseph Kelly** (D4) (President), **Lauren Harvey** (D3) (Vice President), **Amber Shimek** (D3) (Treasurer), **Christina Schiltz** (D3) (Secretary), **Christina Mulcahy** (D4 Representative), **Monica Popowski** (D4 Representative), **Kandy Thomas** (D3 Representative), **Jon Van Hemert** (D2 Representative), **TBD** (D1 Representative)
- Faculty Advisor, Student Research Group: Dr. Teresa Marshall
- Director, UI Student Research Program; Faculty Advisor, AADR National Student Research Group: Dr. John Warren
- Assistant Director, UI Student Research Program: Dr. Teresa Marshall
- Program Assistant, UI Student Research Program: Sara Anstoetter (previous), Lynn Schaul (current)

### **Election of Officers & Mentor Appreciation Luncheon**

The Student Research Group held their annual election of officers at a noon luncheon meeting on May 21, 2012. The Student Research Group took this opportunity to honor and thank the faculty mentors who have worked so selflessly in the past year. "Mentor of the Year" award was presented to **Dr. John Warren & Dr. Kim Brogden**.

### Students on the Go...

- 1. Christina Schiltz (D2) attended the Hinman Student Research Conference October 28-30, 2011 at the University of Tennessee, Memphis, TN. This is a great meeting! One student from each dental school in the country attends with all costs paid by the sponsoring organization. Abstracts for this meeting are due in August.
- 2. The 59<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Iowa Section of the American Association of Dental Research was held February 14, 2012 with 23 predoctoral student research presentations. Thank you for your participation. <u>All students</u> must be prepared to submit an abstract for presentation next year.
- 3. 16 pre-doctoral students presented papers at the AADR meeting in Tampa, March 21-24, 2012. Congrats to: PD: Erica Recker; D1s: Chad Allen, Jonathan Van Hemert; D2s: Jessica Grabouski, Lauren Harvey, Christina Schiltz, Emily Wang; D3s: Nathan Benassi, Samuel Christensen, Christina Mulcahy, JJ Grabouski, Hillary Guenther, Alexia Murray, Monica Popowski; D4s: Mary Beth Hoppens, David Meier.
- 4. The University of Minnesota hosted the 2012 Midwest Regional Student Research Conference, April 13, 2012. The 2 Iowa Student attendees included: **Hillary Guenther (D3) and Joe Kelly (D3).** The 2013 Midwest Regional Dental Student Research Conference will be hosted by the University of Iowa. Usual activities at the Midwest Regional include a banquet, poster presentations, oral presentations by students, luncheon and short business meeting, and a tour of the host dental school. The Conference is generally held in March or April of each year.
- **Thao Kieu (D2)** attended the 48<sup>th</sup> annual American Dental Association Dental Students' Conference on Research in Gaithersburg, MD on April 15-17, 2012. The University of Iowa College of Dentistry sends one student every year to this educational meeting. The goal of this conference is to introduce outstanding dental students to scientists from the ADA, industry, NIDCR, and the ADAF Paffenbarger Research Center to raise their awareness of the wide-ranging careers available in oral health research. Information is sent to all student researchers announcing the opportunity in January of each year.
- **6. Chong Shao (D2)** presented his abstract at the National Oral Health Conference in Milwaukee, WI, April 28, 2012.
- 7. This year, **Christina Schiltz** (**D3**) will present her research at the ADA Annual Session on October 19-21 in San Francisco, CA.

# **Individual Accomplishments**

- 1. D4s: Abbey Ackermann, Andrew Brasser, Julie Coyne, Matthew Drescher, Julie Hendricks, Kelly Huston, Sandra Imoehl, Karl Kohlgraf, David Meier, Katherine Motz, Cherie Senger, recipients of the 2012 Senior Research Achievement Award.
- 2. Hilary Guenther (D3), 5<sup>th</sup> place, Procter & Gamble Poster Competition at the local AADR Research Day.
- **Monica Popowski** (**D3**), 2<sup>nd</sup> place, American Dental Association Pre-doctoral Poster/Table Clinic Competition at the Local AADR Research Day.
- **4. Jonathan Van Hemert** (**D1**), 1<sup>st</sup> place, predoctoral Max Smith Award at the March 2012 Iowa Section for the AADR meeting.
- 5. Lauren Harvey (D2), 2<sup>nd</sup> place, Max Smith Oral Presentation Pre-Doctoral Competition, AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **6. Brian Smith (D3)**, 3<sup>rd</sup> place, Max Smith Oral Presentation Pre-Doctoral Competition, AADR Iowa Section 2012.

- **7. Christina Schiltz (D2)**, 1<sup>st</sup> place award, Dentsply Table Clinic Competition, predoctoral division, AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **8. Alexia Murray (D3)**, 2<sup>nd</sup> place, Dentsply Table Clinic Competition, predoctoral division, AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **9. Thao Kieu (D2)**, 3<sup>rd</sup> place, Dentsply Table Clinic Competition, predoctoral division, AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **10. Lauren Harvey (D2)**, 1<sup>st</sup> place in the predoctoral division in the Iowa Society of Periodontology Topic Award, AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **11. Chad Allen (D1)**, 1<sup>st</sup> place, predoctoral division in the Procter and Gamble Poster Presentation Award at the AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **12. Joseph Kelly (D3)**, 2<sup>nd</sup> place, predoctoral division in the Procter and Gamble Poster Presentation Award at the AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **13. Monica Popowski** (**D3**), 3<sup>rd</sup> place, predoctoral division in the Procter and Gamble Poster Presentation Award at the AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **14. Andrew Brasser** (**D4**), 4<sup>th</sup> place, predoctoral division in the Procter and Gamble Poster Presentation Award at the AADR Iowa Section 2012.
- **15. Samuel Christensen (D3)**, 5<sup>th</sup> place, predoctoral division in the Procter and Gamble Poster Presentation Award at the AADR Iowa Section 2012.

### **Published Articles**

1. Jonathan Van Hemert (D1), Erica Recker (PD), Deborah Dietrich, Ann Progulske-Fox, Zoya Kurago, Katherine Walters, Joseph Cavanaugh, and Kim Brogden. Short Communication. HBD3 alters, but not inhibits, the binding of Porphyromonas *gingivalis* hemagglutinin B to the surface of human dendritic cells. Manuscript No. IJAA-D-12-00233. *Journal of Antimicrobial Agents*. Accepted March 9, 2012.

### **National Student Research Group**

- For information regarding membership in the National Student Research Group (NSRG), visit:
  - http://www.aadronline.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3481. Follow the NSRG on:



The annual IADR/AADR/CADR Meeting will be held in Seattle, WA on March 20-23, 2013. You are encouraged to consider submitting your abstract for awards. A complete list of awards may be found online at <a href="http://www.iadr.org/files/public/13Awards.pdf">http://www.iadr.org/files/public/13Awards.pdf</a>.

Midwest Regional Dental Student Research Conference, Iowa City

## **Important Dates**

April 14, 2013 (tentative)

important Dates	
October 8, 2012	Deadline to submit your AADR abstract electronically
December 14, 2012	AADR status notifications e-mailed to abstract submission presenters
January 16, 2013	AADR presenter pre-registration deadline
January 18, 2013	Deadline for AADR Student Fellowship Research Applications
Late January, 2013	AADR presentation numbers e-mailed to presenters
February 1, 2013	Non-presenter AADR pre-registration deadline
February 19, 2013	Iowa Research Day
March 20-23, 2013	IADR/AADR/CADR 42 <sup>nd</sup> Annual Meeting, Seattle, WA
April 1, 2013	Deadline for Student Research Proposals for the 2013-2014 year