Student Research Group (SRG) Newsletter September 26, 2016

Presentations and Travel

- **Jessica Gradoville (D4)** presented research at the Hinman Student Research Symposium in Memphis, TN on October 30-November 1, 2015.
- **Pat Brambert** (**D3**) presented research at the ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Research Program in Washington, DC on November 6-8, 2015.
- These 35 students presented research at Iowa AADR Local Research Day at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics on February 16, 2016:
- D4 Courtney Bohn, Tommy Crary, Zack Goettsche, Jessica Gradoville, Matt Lam, Michael McCunniff, Ed Pantzlaff, Megan Penticoff, Russ Pesavento;
- D3 Walker Clark, Michael Hemming, Christopher Hogden, Sean McGivern, Isabella Newcomer, So Young Park, Hayley Rinehart, Tim Schramm, Ally Supowitz, Jonathan Szewczyk, Chris Treinen, Amy Vermeer;
- D2 Taylor Austin, Keegan Bohn, Sherri Chyi, Melani Fulton, Elliott Glenn, Paula Gomez, Stacey Howes, Erica Recker, Alison Schell, Deborah Yu;
- D1 Leah Barshinger, Elaine Boosalis, Josh Colvin, Samantha Resnick.
- **Josh Colvin (D1)** and **Michael McCunniff (D4)** presented research at the American Prosthodontic Society Annual Meeting in Chicago, IL on February 25-26, 2016.
- **Erica Recker (D2)** presented research at the American Student Dental Association Annual Session in Dallas, TX on March 2-5, 2016.
- These 19 students presented research at the AADR Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, CA on March 16-19, 2016:
- D4 Matt Lam;
- D3 Walker Clark, Michael Hemming, Christopher Hogden, SoYoung Park, Hayley Rinehart, Ally Supowitz, Amy Vermeer;
- D2 Taylor Austin, Keegan Bohn, Sherri Chyi, Elliott Glenn, Paula Gomez, Stacey Howes, Erica Recker, Alison Schell, Deborah Yu;
- D1 Leah Barshinger, Samantha Resnick.

These students presented research at the Midwest Regional Dental Student Research Conference at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics on April 9, 2016:

- D4 Courtney Bohn, Tommy Crary, Zack Goettsche, Jessica Gradoville, Matt Lam, Michael McCunniff, Ed Pantzlaff, Megan Penticoff, Russ Pesavento;
- D3 Brandt Bergman, Walker Clark, Michael Hemming, Christopher Hogden, Sean McGivern, Isabella Newcomer, Hayley Rinehart, Ally Supowitz, Jonathan Szewczyk, Chris Treinen, Amy Vermeer;
- D2 Taylor Austin, Keegan Bohn, Sherri Chyi, Melani Fulton, Elliott Glenn, Paula Gomez, Stacey Howes, Erica Recker, Alison Schell, Deborah Yu;
- D1 Leah Barshinger, Elaine Boosalis, Josh Colvin, Samantha Resnick.
- Melani Fulton (D2), Sean McGivern (D3), and Isabella Newcomer (D3) presented research at the National Oral Health Conference in Cincinnati, OH on April 18-20, 2016.
- Paula Gomez (D2) presented research at the Hispanic Dental Association in Washington, DC on April 21-24, 2016.
- **D2**s **Erica Recker** and **Elliott Glenn** presented research at the Iowa Dental Association Annual Session in Des Moines, IA on May 7, 2016:
- **D4**s **Courtney Bohn, Jessica Gradoville,** and **Megan Penticoff** presented research at the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Annual Session in San Antonio, TX on May 26-29, 2016.

Accomplishments and Awards

AADR National Student Research Fellowship **Taylor Austin (D2)**

AADR NSRG Vice-President Elect Stacey Howes (D2)

AADR Hatton Competition Finalist Erica Recker (D2)

Max Smith Oral Presentation Pre-Doctoral Competition Chris Treinen (D3) – 1st place

Paula Gomez (D2) – 2nd place Erica Recker (D2) – 3rd place

ADA Pre-Doctoral Poster/Table Clinic Competition Hayley Rinehart (D3) – 1st place

Leah Barshinger (D1) – 2^{nd} place Stacey Howes (D2) – 3^{rd} place

Procter & Gamble Pre-Doctoral Poster Competition Megan Penticoff (D4) – 1st place

 $\begin{aligned} & Courtney\ Bohn\ (D4) - 2^{nd}\ place \\ & Taylor\ Austin\ (D2) - 3^{rd}\ place \\ & Samantha\ Resnick\ (D1) - 4^{th}\ place \end{aligned}$

Sherri Chyi (D2) – 5th place

Iowa Society of Periodontics Pre-Doctoral Award Ally Supowitz (D3)

Postdoctoral/Graduate Specialty Basic Science Award Russ Pesavento (D4)

Iowa Dental Association Annual Session Award Elliott Glenn (D2) – 1st place

Erica Recker $(D2) - 2^{nd}$ place

ADA/Dentsply Award to present at meeting in Fall, 2016 Hayley Rinehart (D3)

2016 Senior Research Achievement Award (D4s) – Zack Goettsche, Courtney Bohn, Matt Lam,

Jessica Gradoville, Brian Darling, Danielle Meirick, Russ Pesavento, Megan Penticoff, Ed Pantzlaff, Tommy

Crary, Austin Foster

Published Articles

So Young Park (D3):

Park S, Kwon SR, Qian F, Wertz PW. The Effect of Delivery System and Light Activation on Tooth Whitening Efficacy and Hydrogen Peroxide Penetration. *J Esthet Restor Dent.* 2016 Aug 11.

Austin Foster (D4):

Foster A, Holton N. Variation in the Developmental and Morphological Interaction between the Nasal Septum and Facial Skeleton. Anat Rec (Hoboken). 2016 Mar 3.

Ammar Alsamawi (D4):

Holton NE, Alsamawi A, Yokley TR, Froehle AW. The Ontogeny of Nasal Shape: An Analysis of Sexual Dimorphism in a Logitudinal Sample. Am J Phys Anthropol. 2016 Jan 29.

Pat Brambert (D3):

Brambert P, Qian F, Kwon SR. Erosion Potential of Tooth Whitening Regimens as Evaluated with Polarized Light Microscopy. J Contemp Dent Pract. 2015 Nov 1;16(11):921-5.

Katie Lee (D4):

Lee KJ, Ettinger RL, Cowen HJ, Caplan DJ. Health Trends in a Geriatric and Special Needs Clinic Patient Population. Spec Care Dentist. 2015 Nov;35(6):303-11.

Brian Darling (D4):

Darling BG, Singhal A, Kanellis MJ. Emergency Department Visits and Revisits for Nontraumatic Dental Conditions in Iowa. J Public Health Dent. 2015 Oct 1.

Erica Recker (D2):

Recker EN, Brogden KA, Avila-Ortiz G, Fischer CL, Pagan-Rivera K, Dawson DV, Smith KM, Elangovan S. Novel Biomarkers of Periodontitis and/or Obesity in Saliva - An Exploratory Analysis. Arch Oral Biol. 2015 Oct;60(10):1503-1509.

Matt Lam (D4): Kwon SR, Hernandez M, Blanchette DR, Lam MT, Gratton DG, Aquilino SA. Effect of Computer-Assisted Learning on Students' Dental Anatomy Waxing Performance. J Dent Educ. 2015 Sep;79(9):1093-1100.

Also...

Thank you to **Erica Recker** (**D2**) for managing the University of Iowa Dental Student Research Group Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/uiowadentalstudentresearch

All 31 student research proposals will be funded for the 2016-2017 award year.

Officers

Officers for 2016-2017 are **Erica Recker (D3)** (President), **Stacey Howes (D3)** (Vice-President), **Ally Supowitz (D4)** (Secretary-Treasurer), **Sean McGivern (D4** Representative), **Elliott Glenn (D3** Representative), **Samantha Resnick (D2** Representative), **TBD (D1** Representative).

Officers for 2015-2016 were **Erica Recker (D2)** (President), **Ed Pantzlaff (D4)** (President), **Hayley Rinehart (D3)** (Secretary-Treasurer), **Courtney Bohn (D4** Representative), **Sean McGivern (D3** Representative), **Taylor Austin (D2** Representative), **Leah Barshinger** and **Samantha Resnick (D1** Representatives).

Dr. Teresa Marshall, Director, UI Dental Student Research Program

Dr. Justine Kolker, Assistant Director, UI Dental Student Research Program; Faculty Advisor for the Student Research Group

Lynn Schaul, Program Coordinator, UI Student Research Program

Spring 2016 Election of Officers & Mentor Appreciation Lunch

The Student Research Group held their annual election of officers at a noon lunch meeting on May 16, 2016. The Student Research Group took this opportunity to honor and thank the faculty mentors who have been influential in the past year. The Mentor of the Year award was presented to **Dr. Satheesh Elangovan.**