DEPARTMENT OF PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY

Ms. Cathy Skotowski RDH, MS

In June we bid farewell to our four graduating residents. Dr. Tyler Driggers joined an established pediatric dentistry practice in Superior, CO. Dr. Terry Geneser has joined the practice of Dr. Polly Iben in Coralville. Dr. Chris Myers accepted a position at the Des Moines Health Center. Dr. Jill Shonka opened a pediatric dentistry practice in Windsor, CO. We wish all four of them continued success and happiness as they embark on their pediatric dental careers.

We welcomed four new residents, Drs. Greg Dietz, Drew Goebel, Kelly Jones, and Treagan White. Dr. Dietz is a 2007 graduate of Southern Illinois University and has worked in private practice and public health in Illinois the last four years. Dr. Jones is a recent graduate of Marquette University. Drs. Goebel and White are 2011 U of IA graduates.

We are very pleased to have Dr. Matt Geneser join our faculty full time effective July 1. He was recently named the Pediatric Dentistry graduate program director. Prior to his full-time appointment, Dr. Geneser had been with the department part time for the last two years.

As the new academic year begins, we would like to acknowledge our adjunct faculty members who will assist us throughout the year teaching D-3 students and pediatric dentistry residents in the clinic. This year, we are fortunate to have Drs. Erik Balster; Polly Iben; Natalie Ghosheh; Steve Kelly; Mike Mathews; Tom Maurice; Ed Rick; Mike Stufflebeam; and faculty emeriti, Drs. Cynthia Christensen and Jerry Walker. We thank them for their generosity, dedication and commitment!

Recognized at the All College Conference this year for 10 years of service to the College of Dentistry were Bridget Barba, Michelle Hermann, Brandy Huerta and Drs. Deborah Dawson and Karin Weber-Gasparoni. Cathy Skotowski was recognized for 25 years of service to the College of Dentistry.

The Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry recently awarded Dr. Karin Weber-Gasparoni the "Dental Public Health Field Training Special Recognition Award" for her efforts with the initial planning and extended follow-up efforts with the Infant Oral Health Program (IOHP) at the Johnson County Health Department WIC Program. Since its inception in 1998, the IOHP has offered on-site oral health care services and education to infants and toddlers and their parents. Fourth year dental students and pediatric dentistry residents staff the clinic every Thursday under the direction of Dr. Weber-Gasparoni.

In August, Dr. Tad Mabry attended the Phase I training portion of the Academy for Academic Leadership's Institute for Teaching and Learning at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. His participation was part of the Master Clinician Scholarship for 2011-2012. Dr. Mabry reports the training "was a great experience—one I highly recommend to all faculty new to the world of academics.'



First year residents: Drs. Treagan White, Kelly Jones, Greg Dietz, and Drew Goebel.