DEPARTMENT OF PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY

Ms. Cathy Skotowski RDH, MS

In June we bid farewell to our four graduating residents. Dr. Matt Pyfferoen will be opening a pediatric dentistry practice in Ames, IA and Dr. Cody Johnson is opening a practice in St. George, UT. Dr. Kelli Johnson has joined an established pediatric dentistry practice in Rapid City, SD and Dr. Raquel Jham has joined an established practice in Austin, TX. We wish all four of them continued success and happiness as they embark on their pediatric dental careers.

We welcomed four new residents, Drs. Scott Bower, Patrick Bowman, Sarah Murrell, and Hilary Reynolds. Dr. Patrick Bowman is a recent graduate of the University of Kentucky. Dr. Reynolds is a 2002 U of IA graduate who has spent the past eight years at the Community Health Center in Burlington, IA. Drs. Bower and Murrell are 2010 U of IA graduates.

Dr. Tad Mabry has been appointed the Pre-doctoral Pediatric Dentistry Clinic director and course director for the two D-3 pediatric dentistry courses, 90:160 and 90:165. The position had previously been held by Dr. Cynthia Christensen who retired June 30.

Dr. Matt Geneser has been appointed clinical assistant professor and will be with the department half-time this year and full-time effective July 1, 2011.

As the new academic year begins, we would like to acknowledge our adjunct faculty members who will assist us throughout the year teaching D-3 students and pediatric dentistry residents in the clinic. This year we are fortunate to have Drs. Erik Balster, Polly Iben, Natalie Ghosheh, Steve Kelly, Mike Mathews, Tom Maurice, Ed Rick, Mike Stufflebeam, and faculty emeritus, Dr. Jerry Walker. We thank them for their generosity, dedication and commitment!

Dr. Richard Burke was recently elected as a member of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), a national dental honor society. On June 3, the Iowa Chapter of OKU held its annual banquet and welcomed ten dental students and three faculty as newly elected members. Congratulations Dr. Burke!

Dr. Karin Weber-Gasparoni was one of eighteen University of Iowa faculty members who received the Collegiate Teaching Award for the 2009-10 academic year. The award represents the highest honor a college bestows on its faculty for excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching. Dean David Johnson recognized Dr. Weber-Gasparoni for her accomplishments at the All College Conference August 16. Way to go, Dr. Weber-Gasparoni!

Dr. Mike Kanellis was recognized at the All College Conference for receiving "Faculty of All Four Years" from the Class of 2010. Each class gets the opportunity to select a "Faculty of the Year" and fourth-year students also select one professor they would like to honor for their entire training at the College of Dentistry. This is quite an honor and such a well deserved acknowledgement of Dr. Kanellis' commitment to dental students' training, illustrating how he so graciously shares his passion for pediatric dentistry to all those around him. High five, Dr. K!

Also recognized at the All College Conference were Dr. Richard Burke and Ms. Mary Chay for their 10 years of service to the College of Dentistry.

Ms. Mary Akers has joined our department as the dental assistants' supervisor. Ms. Akers had previously worked in our department from 1988-2000 and then went on to be the dental assistants' supervisor for Hospital Dentistry. We are delighted to have Ms. Akers back with us!

Dr. Cynthia Christensen has been selected 2010 Educator of the Year by the University of Iowa Dental Alumni Association and will receive recognition for the award at the upcoming Alumni Reunion October 29. We invite you to attend the Dental Alumni Banquet and extend your congratulations to Dr. Christensen on this most distinguished honor!

PHOTO NEXT PAGE



First year pediatric dentistry residents (left to right): Drs. Scott Bower, Patrick Bowman, Hilary Reynolds and Sarah Murrell.