## DEPARTMENT OF PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY

Ms. Cathy Skotowski, RDH, MS

In recognition of Children's Dental Health Month, the dental student groups were very busy participating in community outreach activities. Free dental screenings and fluoride varnish applications were offered to children attending the Iowa Children's Museum on February 28 as part of the "Give Kids a Smile" program. After receiving signed consents from accompanying parents, children received a free dental screening, oral hygiene instructions and a fluoride varnish application. Packets containing free toothbrushes, toothpaste and educational materials were provided for each child. Notes summarizing the results of the dental screenings and information on resources and programs offering financial assistance for follow-up treatment were provided. Approximately 100 children benefitted from the project.

Department faculty and residents have also been very active providing dental health education and dental screenings to children in the Iowa City elementary schools as part of a grant funded by the MidWestOne Bank. In cooperation with the Iowa City Community School District's director of Health and Student Services, Susie Poulton, five elementary schools were visited during February. Dental health presentations were delivered to most of the students and dental screenings were provided for all first- and sixth-grade students with parental consent to participate. Kindergarteners who had not had their school dental screening forms returned were also screened. The majority of the funding from the grant will go towards providing follow-up dental care to children identified as having restorative dental treatment needs but lacking the financial means to pay for it. Over 2,000 children were educated and almost 600 children received dental screenings through this project. The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry held its annual Comprehensive Review Course in San Diego, CA on January 23 - 26. The course is designed to serve as an in-depth review of pediatric dentistry and may be helpful to those who are preparing to complete their written board exam. Two of our second-year residents, Drs. Steve Leifker and Greg Weinberg, attended. Drs. Sandy Fox and Kayla Risma attended a similar course held in Chicago in August.

On February 3-4, Drs. Sandy Fox, Kayla Risma and Vanessa Axelsen (residents), Dr. Richard Burke (associate professor) and Dr. Todd Hoeppner (DDS '99 pediatric dentistry certificate '01) traveled to Forest City, IA. The team provided on-site dental care to 31 special health care needs adults as part of a 17-year-old program with our department and Krysilis, Inc. The opportunity continues to offer our residents a great learning experience with physically challenging special health care needs patients and we are extremely grateful for Drs. Burke and Hoeppner's leadership with this program.

Three of our second-year residents presented their research at the 61<sup>st</sup> Annual Meeting of the Iowa Section of the American Association for Dental Research held February 11 at the College of Dentistry. Drs. Kayla Risma and Sandy Fox delivered poster presentations and Dr. Steve Leifker delivered an oral presentation. Dr. Steve Leifker received the Pediatric Dentistry Specialty Award for his research presentation, entitled "Iowa Dentists and the Age One Dental Visit: 20-Year Follow Up." His research mentors were Drs. Weber-Gasparoni, Kanellis, and Qian. Dr. Kayla Risma won first place in the ADA Post-Graduate poster completion for her research entitled: "Caregivers' Comfort Levels Regarding Physical Resistance During Oral Care Delivery". Her research mentors were Drs. Weber-Gasparoni, Swenson, Ettinger, and Qian. Dr. Sandy Fox won second place in the ADA Post-Graduate poster competition for her research entitled: "Factors Associated with Early Childhood Caries in a Midwestern Hispanic Community". Her research mentors were Drs. Dawson, Weber-Gasparoni, Marshall,

Schumacher, Drake and Kanellis. Congratulations to all of our department award winners!



Pictured from right to left, Drs. Warren, Leifker, Dawson, Weber-Gasparoni, Qian, Geneser, Fox and Risma at the local AADR awards reception.